A Bit Longer

I was supposed to go home but I stayed.

Africa’s warm heart calls my own heart and business calls in Nairobi. I’m staying until the end of the month.

There is much to write about and so much to say. I’m looking forward to writing more about my work here over the past two weeks, about the people of Malawi and Zambia. I’m looking forward to telling you all about the strongest women I’ve ever met and their boundless joy in the face of great adversity. There is much to share about the governance of the villages, about their way of life in a world of chaos.

Orphan’s stories must be to told. Child-headed households need to be unveiled. Gender based violence is threatening. The sick are suffering. The widows face hardship. People are starving and hungry for food, education and opportunity. There are stories of transformation but so many more in need of it.

In the midst of all of this there is freedom in spirit, in song and dance, which gives Africa a symphonic harmony that reflects nature’s circle of life.

There is too much to do here. So much curiosity to be satisfied. I want to learn, to explore, to adventure. I want to adore the majesty of life here.

And so, I’m staying a bit longer…

One thought on “A Bit Longer”

Leave a Reply

